Pennsylvania DUI penalties aren’t light for first-time offenders
  1. Home
  2.  ▶ 
  3. DUI
  4.  ▶ Pennsylvania DUI penalties aren’t light for first-time offenders

Pennsylvania DUI penalties aren’t light for first-time offenders

| Aug 20, 2020 | DUI |

Driving while drunk or after usage of certain drugs can be unsafe. Impaired driving often leads to careless maneuvers and careless maneuvers can create injury or death-causing accidents on the road. Because of the danger that impaired drivers can cause, law enforcement officers train to spot risky drivers and pull them over before they harm themselves or other travelers.

So, if you experience your first DUI stop, one plus side of the situation is that you still have your life. On the other hand, if you receive a DUI, then you will likely face many serious penalties and a criminal charge that will remain on your record for some time.

In Pennsylvania, DUI offenders will receive a different set of consequences based on their blood alcohol content (BAC) level. Here is a list the penalties that suspects with no prior offenses may face under the three different types of DUIs:

  • General impairment: Drivers with a BAC above the legal limit of .08 and up to .099 can receive a general impairment DUI. If the charge holds up in court, penalties may include a six-month probation period, a $300 fine and an alcohol safety class.
  • High BAC: Drivers with a BAC level of .10 to .159 can receive a high BAC DUI charge. High BAC penalties may include a year-long license suspension, a two-day to six-month prison sentence, a fine ranging from $500 to $5,000 and an alcohol safety class.
  • Highest BAC: When a suspect has a BAC level of .16 or higher, they may also face a year-long license suspension. And they might have to serve anywhere from three days to six months in prison, pay a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 and attend alcohol safety school.

With each type of DUI, it’s clear to see that state courts don’t play around when it comes to charging drunk and drugged drivers. So, if you are approaching your court date, it can be helpful to work with a DUI attorney to learn how you might be able to reduce the charge or minimize the consequences.