Will I lose my license if I get a DUI in Pennsylvania?
  1. Home
  2.  ▶ 
  3. DUI
  4.  ▶ Will I lose my license if I get a DUI in Pennsylvania?

Will I lose my license if I get a DUI in Pennsylvania?

| Oct 13, 2020 | DUI |

A drunk driving offense can take a significant toll on any person’s life, whether a driver is a young college student or a grandfather. It can affect relationships and jobs, even for a first-time offender. In some cases, a DUI can also compromise a person’s ability to drive.

Per Pennsylvania DUI laws, there are a few situations in which a person could lose their license after a DUI. These situations include:

  • Having a blood alcohol level equal to or above 0.10 percent
  • Having a previous DUI conviction on your record
  • Being under 21 and having any alcohol in your system while driving
  • Refusing a chemical test

These factors will trigger a license suspension for an average of 12 months. However, there may be opportunities for people to drive after 30 days after a first offense and upon completion of accelerated rehabilitative disposition.

In some cases, you can drive after six months if you have an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle.

The toll of a suspended license

If you lose your license after a drunk driving offense, you might assume that it will be little more than an inconvenience. However, the truth is that license suspension can prove to be more upsetting than you expect.

If you are a parent, you would not be able to pick up or drop your child off from school or soccer practice. And blowing into an ignition interlock device in these scenarios could be embarrassing.

You would not be able to drive to the grocery store. You may have to rely on friends and family for rides, which can be inconvenient and intrusive. Without reliable transportation, you might lose your job or have to work unfavorable hours.

Further, if you drive with a suspended license and police pull you over, you could face additional charges and harsh penalties.

Thus, protecting your license should be a priority for anyone accused of driving drunk.

Other consequences of a DUI

In addition to license suspension, a driver could also be facing fines, increased insurance rates, criminal charges and possible jail time after a DUI.

With so much at stake in a DUI, it is crucial to take these charges seriously and defend yourself.